Allergy-Friendly Easter and Passover

While kids are busy hunting eggs 2C food allergy f

Easter and Passover holidays mean kids are busy hunting eggs and Afikoman (matzo), but families with food allergies are on a different kind of search. From finding allergy-safe chocolate bunnies to scoring the perfect eggless dessert for Sunday brunch or Seder, there is a lot to gather and get creative with. Luckily, Spokin has the resources to make the hunt easier.

For Easter, we’ve created candy guides for both the classics and top 8 allergen-free, a how-to on eggless egg decorating, and curated allergen-friendly recipes for Easter brunch, lunch or dinner. For Passover, we have allergen-free alternatives for your Seder plate and recipes that accommodate both observing the holiday and food allergies. Consider this your golden (allergy-friendly) egg to a safe Easter and Passover.

Editorial Note: See our 2021 Passover Guide for an updated list of allergy-friendly Passover products!

Menus   |   Easter Candy Allergen Guide   |   Egg(less) Decorating


app storeqr 1

Food takes center stage at holidays, but more than anything, it’s about being with loved ones. The warmth and safety we feel on these special occasions should extend to the meal itself. We’ve curated recipes to swap out allergens that typically make an appearance at the Easter or Passover meal so the whole family can feel included. 

Easter Candy Allergen Guide

One of the best parts of Easter is the candy, for kids and adults alike. We’ve gathered allergen information for the classic confections all in one place with alternatives that are top 8 allergen-free (and many that are also seed-free).

Easter Classics

Free From:
Egg, Soy, Peanut, Tree Nut, Wheat/Gluten
May Contain: Milk
Allergen Information

Cadbury Creme Eggs
Free From:
Peanut, Tree Nut, Wheat/Gluten
Contains: Milk, Egg, Soy
Allergen Information

Hershey’s Chocolate Snapsy Bunny
Free From: Egg, Peanut, Tree Nut, Wheat/Gluten
Contains: Milk, Soy
Allergen Information

M&M’s Easter Chocolate
Free From:
Egg, Wheat/Gluten, Tree Nut
Contains: Milk, Soy
May Contain: Peanuts
Allergen Information

Jelly Belly Beans
Free From: Egg, Milk, Wheat/Gluten, Peanut
Some Flavors Contain: Soy, Tree Nut
Allergen Information

Spokin Tip: Allergens and cross-contamination warnings can change depending on the size of the candy. For example, fun-sized candies can be made on different lines than regular or king-sized versions. Always read food labels before eating.

Egg(less) Decorating

When it comes time to dye Easter eggs, those with egg allergies don’t have to be left out of the fun. 
We’ve found three creative alternatives to help you safely decorate, egg-free.

surf ss.png


These inedible dyeable ceramic eggs look and feel like the real deal. No boiling, refrigerating or cracking with these guys.

Eggnots was hatched by a woman who hated seeing her egg-allergic niece left out every Easter and decided to do something about it.

Egg Shape Sorter

For little ones with egg allergies, these mix and match sorting eggs are a great non-food Easter gift. Scramble them up to help them learn about shapes and their allergen – then get creative with permanent markers and stickers to add some festive flair.


Toy-Filled Easter Eggs

No candy, no worries. These bright plastic Easter eggs are filled with mini-cars, rings, squirt guns and so much more. Amazon offers plenty of options and inspiration to even make your own.

Get the Spokin word in your inbox!
Be the first to get the latest updates and exclusive content sent to your email.